WATRA works with national telecommunication regulatory authorities in  16 member states in West Africa to promote the adoption of regulations that stimulate investment in telecommunication infrastructure, deliver more affordable communication services to more citizens, enable faster and more secure economic transactions, and facilitate wider and easier access to public services. Together, we work to improve telecommunication sector regulation for economic transformation and social development of all communities in West Africa.


ICT | Digital Economy | Ministerial | Regulators’ News


WATRA was established in 2002 as a result of the need for a common platform for the telecommunications and ICT regulators in the West African region to exchange information, share best practices, and coordinate their actions.


WATRA operates under the legal framework of the ECOWAS Treaty, the Supplementary Act on Telecommunications and ICT, the Protocol on the Establishment of WATRA, and the Constitution and Rules of Procedure of WATRA.